Number Theory Foundation

The Number Theory Foundation

About the NTF

The Number Theory Foundation (NTF) is an organization whose aim is to collect donations from supporters of number theory and to disburse these donations to encourage research and collaboration by helping to sponsor appropriate conferences and working to foster a spirit of cooperation and goodwill among the family of number theorists.

Currently our available funds are primarily directed toward supporting workshops and conferences in various areas of number theory; examples of past events we have funded can be found below. The NTF does not seek to be the sole sponsor of such events, but rather to share in their support.

The NTF is a non-profit public charity. Contributions to the NTF are fully tax deductible in the U.S. Contributions may be made by a check to The Number Theory Foundation and sent in care of

The Number Theory Foundation
Department of Mathematics
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755

Phone: 603-646-3723
Fax: 603-646-1312

Board of Directors

    Jennifer Balakrishnan, Boston University
    Michael A. Bennett (Vice President), University of British Columbia
    Richard Blecksmith, Northern Illinois University
    Brian Conrey, American Institute of Mathematics
    Chantal David, Concordia University
    Harold G. Diamond, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Kevin Ford, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Melanie Matchett Wood, Harvard University
    Lillian Pierce, Duke University
    Carl Pomerance (Secretary), Dartmouth College
    Bruce Reznick, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Renate Scheidler, University of Calgary
    Alice Silverberg, University of California at Irvine
    Andrew V. Sutherland (President), Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    John Voight (Treasurer), Dartmouth College
    Samuel S. Wagstaff Jr., Purdue University
    Hugh C. Williams, University of Calgary

Application Procedure

The NTF currently accepts applications to fund meetings, workshops, conferences, and other events on a rolling basis. Applications should follow our proposal template and be submitted via email to Below are some tips for those submitting proposals:

Selected Past Grants

NTF was a partial sponsor of the following events:

In Memoriam

John D. Brillhart (1930-2022), who passed away on May 21, 2022, was one of the original directors and a contributor to the Number Theory Foundation. For more information see the letter to the editor of the AMS Notices written in memory of his mathematical life and work.

Ronald L. Graham (1935-2020), who passed away on July 6, 2020, was one of the original directors of the Number Theory Foundation and an active member of the board through 2020. At various times in his career he was the president of the American Mathematical Society, the Mathematical Association of America, and the International Jugglers' Association. See his obituary in the New York Times and the memorial tribute in the Notices of the AMS for more information about his life and work.

Richard K. Guy (1916--2020), who passed away on March 9, 2020, was a great friend, and supporter of the Number Theory Foundation from the beginning; he was one of the original directors and helped to guide the foundation for more than twenty years. See the MAA Focus memoriam article and the AMS Notices memorial tribute for some reflections on his remarkable life.

Barbara Selfridge (1951-2018), daughter of John Selfridge, was a feminist writer, playwright, actor, and activist. Over the years she generously supported The Number Theory Foundation. Her one-woman play Zero Tolerance: Sex, Math and Seizures documented her complicated relationship with her father.

Paul Bateman (1919--2012) was one of the original directors and an early contributor to The Number Theory Foundation. For more information see his University of Illinois memoriam, and his memoriam page at Celebratio Mathematica.

John Selfridge (1927--2010) founded The Number Theory Foundation. For more information, see the preface to the John Selfridge Memorial Volume of Integers, and also his obituary.

Ethel Rathbun (1932--2005) was the first executive administrator of The Number Theory Foundation. She is also warmly remembered as the administrator for the University of Michigan Mathematics Department. For more information see her obituary in the Ann Arbor News.